You never know when you might see a penny-farthing

3 May

Riding along Mount Vernon Trail NOT in an old-timey bicycle

While biking on the Capital Crescent Trail yesterday, I saw a man riding a penny-farthing, AKA an old-timey bicycle.

Since I was pretty sure I hadn’t time traveled, I found this antique pastime amusing.  But what I didn’t do in that moment was snap a photo.  I had my iPhone in my pocket, I just wasn’t ready.

Just as the mysterious “they” always say that the only runs you ever regret are the ones you don’t go on, the only photos I have ever regretted are the ones I didn’t take.

Which is why I usually ride my bike with my iPhone either in my hand or in my pocket, set to open to my camera at a second’s notice.

Luckily, I did manage to get some shots last week during a long ride down to Gravelly Point, a football field-sized park across National Airport in Virginia.

One hand on the handle

Coming in for a landing

A couple watches from Gravelly Point the planes land

C&O Canal before crossing Key Bridge

6 Responses to “You never know when you might see a penny-farthing”

  1. Rudolf Vlček May 3, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    lovely colours, reminds of technicolor:-)

  2. Epod May 3, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    The plane photo is one of my favorites.

    Also, I still don’t know how you manage to ride and shoot at the same time. What superb balance.

  3. Heather C May 3, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    The penny-farthing rider would’ve been a good addition to that “Strangers” project! C’mon, get on that.

    The plane photo is superb.

    {Epod made me want a reason to use the word “superb”.}

    • DC Runographer May 4, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

      I should have turned around and tracked him down. I am seriously regretting it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.