Look at me, I’m yogaing!

1 Apr

Last week, while Heather and D were visiting DC for the SunTrust National Half Marathon, I commended her on the yoga progress she had made.

In particular, I was impressed with her ability to strike a pose that had her head down, her arms on her knees, and her whole body balanced on her hands while upside down.

“It’s easy to do,” she told me as I rolled my eyes and scoffed.  “Here, I’ll show you.”

She proceeded to show me exactly just how easy it was for someone like me — who thinks of yoga as something barefoot, new age hippies do in the park — to strike this pose.

And you know what?  It was easy.

I couldn’t believe it.  Within seconds, I was doing yoga.  “Look at me!” I proudly declared, “I’m yogaing!”

Sure enough, I was balancing on my hands upside down in a challenging yet attainable pose.  Epod was also able to do it and told me how it was a pretty common move in yoga.

That move has since transformed me.  I have decided that I want to immerse myself in yoga, to dig deep into it, to learn its physical as well as spiritual challenges in the hopes of making me a better person and, hopefully, meditator.

I have already signed up for a month-long series of beginning yoga classes here in DC.  I might also stop running so I can sufficiently dedicate myself to the ways of yoga.  I have even created a Twitter account so I can share my journey.

It’s http://twitter.com/april-fools-ill-never-do-yoga.

I hope you’ll follow me.

4 Responses to “Look at me, I’m yogaing!”

  1. Heather C April 1, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    CHALLENGE……(wait for it), ACCEPTED.

    If I can get you in crow, you better believe I’ve got more tricks up these sleeves.

    • DC Runographer April 1, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

      Is that what it was called? I was wondering.

      Cool names help.

  2. Adam April 3, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    hahahahah. awesome. I love it

Leave a Reply

